Pinterest Project: Hurricane Candle Holders

I haven’t spent a whole lot of time on Pinterest lately.  I just haven’t had the time or energy.  But, back when I did, I found several different pictures of hurricane candle holders filled with different things.  Candy hearts for Valentine’s Day.  Kernels of corn for fall.  Jelly beans for Easter.  Shiny ornaments for Christmas.  I immediately fell in love and knew that I wanted to do this in some form or fashion.

I don’t decorate for the different seasons.  My house has two modes of décor: Every Day and Every Day Slightly Modified To Accommodate Christmas.  So I knew that I didn’t want to do something that I would need to change out every month or so.

I’ve been bringing splashes of blue into my living room.  Blue curtains, blue vases.  So I almost immediately decided that blue decorative stones would be the way to go.  I’m very picky, so I went to several different craft stores looking for the perfect shade.

Eventually I found the perfect one at Jo-Ann Fabric & Craft Stores.  It called Blue Balance from Panacea Marble Accents.

It has dark shiny marbles, dark matte marbles, and small clear marbles.

I used twelve inch glass hurricane candle holders, six inch candles, and six bags of marbles for each holder.  I experimented with using different space fillers so that I wouldn’t have to use as many marbles, but I wasn’t able to achieve the look I was going for.

There are only three bags photographed here, but I used six.

The steps are super simple.

Add marbles to hurricane glass. (Carefully. If you drop them in from too high, you could shatter the glass.)

Add candle. I nestled the candle down into the marbles so that the bottom edge didn’t show.

Tada!! So pretty!!

I made 2 and put them on opposite ends of my mantle.

I’m really happy with how it turned out and I love the shade of blue it brings into the room.  I think that once Christmas comes around I may remove the marbles and candle and fill them with shiny ornaments.  But I’ve got a while to decide on that.

Leave a comment